You Are So Last Season


cross snow

You were a summer breeze
Unexpected and fleeting
Blowing through my life and leaving me shivering and disheveled
Like you had the right
You didn’t

(but I let you anyway)

You were the autumn leaves
Vibrant and falling
Sweeping away on the wind when I reached for your colours
Like it was a race to be won
It wasn’t

(but I chased you anyway)

You were the winter frost
Glittering and frigid
Ice against my bare soles (soul?) reminding me again that beauty is pain
Like it was a lesson to be taught
It wasn’t

(but I learnt it anyway)

She is the spring rain
Cleansing and sweet
Trickling in through the cracks and tracing searching fingers up my stems
Like there are blooms amidst my thorns
There aren’t

(but she finds something anyway)

One thought on “You Are So Last Season

Leave a Reply

